Confessions of a bad asthmatic

Okay so I know that preventer medication is really important if you are asthmatic, it can make the difference between if you will have an attack or not and the severity of your attack.

So I have a confession to make. I’ve been a bad asthmatic. I finished my serevent (LABA) two weeks ago and haven’t refilled my prescription – oops. I am trying to step down but it really isn’t working so I do need my serevent but I can’t get out of college to do it. TOO MUCH WORK! (That’s my excuse but I really do need to be more proactive about these things). The good thing is that I have an appointment with my asthma nurse on the 30th so I only have to wait a few more days.

Oh and then there is another thing that I am going to confess to in advance – my inhaled steroid is going to run out on the 25th – oh oh, that means I have a serious problem on my hands, I’m going for 5 days without any kind of controller or preventative medications and it’s my own fault. So when I do go and see the asthma nurse I already know what kind of lecture I am going to get, and I’m not looking forward to it.

On other news though I am hoping to either start a trial of symbicort or seretide (advair) but I will have to see what the asthma nurse says about that.

Leave a Reply

