Sleep deprivation and pain

I was trying to think of the last time that I got a whole nights sleep or at least a night where I have managed to fall asleep before 1AM… And I don’t think I can remember.

This is a pretty common issue with people with joint problems and chronic pain with the Spoonie community dubbing it “Painsomnia” – the inability to fall alseep/or sleep because of pain.

I mean I can’t put all of my sleepless nights down to pain because I have had quite a lot of personal issues to deal with lately. But a lot of the time, I can’t sleep because of my joints.

I find that during the day I am quite distracted by college work and revision and just work in general but as soon as I have a quiet moment the pain hits me like a brick wall. I’m not saying that, during the day, I am totally pain free because I am not, I’m just saying that I notice the pain less when I am busy than when I have some spare time on my hands.

This year more than most, I have noticed how tired I have been. I am needed more and more concealer to cover up the dark circles under my eyes, and sometimes even that isn’t enough to stop people asking about them. My concentration at college is pretty much non-existent which is meaning that I am having to work harder and longer when I get home just to do the basic homework without adding any revision in. Yes, this half term is the longest I have ever had but I didn’t think that 10 weeks as opposed to 6 or 7 would make such a huge difference.

Over the last few months I have also developed what I can only describe as “bumps” on my thumb nails, or should I say my thumb nails are bumpy themselves. They are almost like a wave, rising out of the cuticle then falling quite sharply about two thirds of the way along my nail. Now this wouldn’t really bother me except when it gets sore… I never expected that nails could be so sore that it could keep me awake? I have absolutely no idea what could be causing this, I mean if it was only one thumb I would have just put it down to me injuring it. But it is both thumbs and it has me completely stumped. I keep wracking my brain trying to think of something that could be causing it, and I am refusing to google it because I will probably scare myself half to death!

Tomorrow is Friday, which is the last day of this half term then I have a week off. It isn’t exactly a week off, more if a week to catch up with everything I have fallen behind on and I also have my driving theory test on the Friday so I have to revise for that too. But I am really looking forward to sleeping in, even for just one day!

Leave a Reply

