Stress and joints

Yesterday I posted on MyLungsMyLife’s facebook page about neglecting this blog and the reason why. I also said that I was hoping to write a post about stress and dealing with chronic illnesses which I will probably write l about later. But today I thought I would write about how stress effects me.

I have been under quite a lot of stress lately with mock exams and university interviews and all this stress is making me feel run down. Anyone who is stressed for extended periods of time feels run down but people who are already ill before the stress feel even worse! I’m writing this at 6pm, and I am struggling to stay awake… Now that’s not normal, for me anyway, because even when I flare I can’t usually get to sleep till after 1am. In fact I am so tired, I can’t even go out for a drive in my Dad’s car… Last week I passed my driving test and I just got insurance.

My joints are at it too! I woke up today and found that I couldn’t straighten my knee fully. The last time that happened  I was in a major flare, and although I am more sore than usual, and a little bit swollen, I am not having a full blown flare.

The ligaments in my knees have been pretty sore lately too, and I have no clue what to do about that except from grin and bare it.

Knee anatomy is cool right?
Knee anatomy is cool right?

My medial collateral ligament (MCL) and lateral collateral ligament (LCL) in both knees are so sore to touch, and they look slightly swollen. I would normally do a load of research about this sort of thing but there isn’t an awful lot out there… everything tends to be about injuries to ligaments or enthesitis. And although enthesitis fits my symptoms more than other things, I am in no position to make or think about a diagnosis. I have been considering going to my GP to get some NSAIDs (non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs) but I have been so busy lately  I haven’t had chance to do anything, which is stressing me out more because I am going skiing in T-18 days!

Just less than 18 days to go!
Just less than 18 days to go!

And although skiing is super exciting, I have no idea how it is going to affect my joints, baring in mind that it hurts just to stand up. And thinking of how skiing is going to affect me, I am slightly concerned about if it will mess with my asthma control… Right now, my asthma is pretty much under control and I would prefer to keep it like that!

Anyway, I hope to keep updating this blog as much as I can but I am making no promises.

I also thought it would be interesting to add a poll onto my blog to see if people actually find what I am writing interesting, or useful on the posts that I have written advice in… So it will be interesting to see the results of that.

Leave a Reply

