World Asthma Day 2014 Q&A

Today is World Asthma day and in an attempt to raise some awareness about what it is like to live with asthma (from my perspective) I’m going to be answering some questions that my followers have e-mailed me. [Sorry for the late reply for those of you who have asked me questions!!!]

[Note: I have paraphrased some questions]

How were you diagnosed with asthma?

I was having issues with symptoms when I was exercising and people in my Cricket club were starting to make comments when we were playing matches about how loud my wheezing was, or they would ask me if I was having an asthma attack etc. So I headed off to the GP who sent me to the asthma nurse for a Spirometry. Basically, at that point, my Spiro was normal (because I wasn’t having symptoms) so my nurse and I decided to try a peak flow for a few weeks. Based on the massive variance in my peak flow, coupled with symptoms, I was diagnosed with asthma.

Do you see a consultant for your asthma?

Nope, I’m under the care of an Asthma Nurse (who is actually a Diabetes Nurse) and my GP. I don’t have severe asthma so I don’t need to see a consultant.

Why did you start this blog?

Basically, I started this blog to try and raise awareness about asthma and other chronic illnesses, and also to share my experiences with asthma (and bad joints) with other people. I found it extremely helpful to read blogs after I was diagnosed, so you never know… someone might find this blog helpful.

Are you worried about going to University?

Erm… I’m going to presume you mean, am I worried about my asthma. Well that would be a yes and a no. I’ve never had severe asthma, or had attacks that have landed me in hospital and I feel quite safe in the knowledge that I can manage my asthma, and attacks, fairly well by myself. And, of course I know when I need to see my GP. But then I am slightly concerned about being able to afford my medication, thankfully there are pre-payment schemes that are cheaper in the long run but there is always that worry in the back of your head. I’m very fortunate to live in a country with a National Health Service that subsidises the cost of medications, otherwise I would be forking out a fair bit of money.

Does asthma affect your life much?

Well, asthma is always in my thought processes when I go out… Money, check. Bag, check. Inhaler, check. But overall asthma doesn’t play a massive role in my life, I don’t have severe attacks, and I am pretty well managed. But of course, those nights when your asthma isn’t behaving it’s self as well as it should are rough, or if you are having a bad day, that’s hard. You can’t completely separate your life from asthma because you are living with it, but I am lucky enough that I don’t have to think about carrying around a portable neb or bringing umpteen different inhalers with me.

How do you go about getting an asthma plan?

I asked for one… When I was getting put on my first combination inhaler (Seretide, AKA Advair) I figured it was time to have a better understanding of my asthma and what I should do when.

If I were you, I would either ask your GP/asthma nurse or your consultant, if you see one.

How did you find out your triggers?

The hard way… i.e. by being triggered. I don’t have allergic asthma so allergy testing would be pretty useless for me, so I just made a note of when I h attacks/exacerbations and what caused them. Of course it isn’t always that easy, and sometimes multiple factors play a role e.g. having a cold and meeting another trigger, or having a cold and meeting something that doesn’t normally trigger you, which causes an attack/symptoms (or at least, it does for me).

 

So that was my Q&A for asthma, I have another one to raise awareness about Arthritis/bad joints that I will post in the next few weeks.

If and if you have any questions feel free to comment below or visit my “Contact me” page.

Leave a Reply

