Bad Asthmatic

If anyone has read Rick Frea’s blog on HealthCentral (see here) you will be familiar with the list of personality types (see here)that Rick has come across in his work as a Respiratory Therapist. When I was first diagnosed I found this post extremely useful in helping me to become the best asthma patient I could be.

I used to be what Rick describes as a “Phlegmatic Asthmatic” which is someone who is characterised as remaining calm even when they are having trouble breathing. Although I am a stress-head, I have found that I am able to remain calm in situations such as asthma attacks and other medical situations such as seizures (I have a family member with Epilepsy) which has significantly, especially when the situation is classed as an emergency. However, more recently I am kind of ashamed to admit that I have not kept up with my asthma treatments and my mental attitude was not what it should be. I have had a slightly self-destructive attitude recently, which is my response to what is going on in my life and I haven’t taken Flutiform in a few weeks. No, that doesn’t mean that my asthma is fine with nothing. In fact the opposite has happened and I have had to use Ventolin a lot recently but that is my fault. I basically went from a person with relatively good control over my asthma, to someone who had control similar to when I was first diagnosed before the LABA which was upsetting,  but it still took me till my friends gave me a kick up the backside to get back on track. I have a family member and a close friend who are both very ill and I was too busy worrying about them and looking for clinical trials to think about my health, and it wasn’t till my friend pointed out that being ill myself would not help the situation at all.

I also owe everyone who has helped me out over the past few weeks a big thank you, especially Elizabeth, GG, and my group of girlfriends who I love to bits! I am back on track with my asthma treatments as of yesterday and I am feeling better despite still struggling with my good ol’ asthma cough. I am going to be a Phlegmatic Asthmatic again as opposed to the Goofus Asthmatic that I have become.

Leave a Reply

