A busy few weeks

My life has been pretty hectic recently. I found out I was going to go to university about a week ago (on the 14th) which I really wasn’t expecting based on how I thought my exams had gone, so I hadn’t bought anything that I needed. For any of you who have moved away to go to Uni, you’ll have some idea of what it is like to find out that you have to get 6 freaking pages of stuff [i.e student essentials] in 4 weeks… and for those of you who don’t it’s super stressful, exciting, nerve-wracking and really expensive! This week I have had to pay out over £500 for necessary things including the deposit on my accommodation, the gym, Uni essentials including pots and pans, bedding, towels and bathroom stuff, and my Gym membership. It’s been crazy expensive week, but thankfully I think I have got almost everything I need to move out, so the next few weeks shouldn’t be that expensive. I have a new found respect for anyone who has ever had to move out and get new stuff because it is far more difficult than I expected!

I am also happy to report that I am back on track with my asthma meds… I took an impromptu break from Flutiform and relied solely on Ventolin for a few weeks which was a stupid thing to do and was a result of the massive amounts of stress I was under from certain events going on in my personal life… I have now either resolved or come to terms with these issues and I am feeling a lot happier. However, my lungs are still hating on me for leaving them without a controller med for a while and so I have had to up my dose of Flutiform back to the 125/5 inhaler but I shouldn’t complain because it was my fault. I am hoping that in a few weeks everything will settle back down to normal, but if not I shall just phone my nurse and ask her to change my repeat prescription back to the 125/5. And that has also reminded me that I need to book in for my flu jab! GET YOUR FLU JAB GUYS! There is no point getting ill if there were steps that you could have taken to reduce the risk.

Now onto the hip… I think I mentioned that my bursitis has come back in my hip, or maybe I didn’t. I am incredibly tired right now because I haven’t slept well in about 2 weeks because of my bursitis and it is affecting my memory so I can’t actually remember if I have told you about my hip. So in short, my bursitis came back about 2 weeks ago after no problems since the end of June when I had a burst of pred. There was a few low points last week where I was feeling really sick because of the pain but thankfully I wasn’t actually sick. I am now considering my options for treating the bursitis again and as far as I can tell I have 5 options:

  1. Continue treating with 1000mg of Naproxen a day, and 1000mg of Paracetamol PRN/every 4 hours, and Ice
  2. See my GP and ask about a burst of pred or a cortisone injection
  3. See a private physiotherapist
  4. Phone my Rheumy
  5. Do a combination

So Option 1 is what I have been doing for the last 2 weeks and although it’s preferable to doing nothing, I am still having a lot of pain and my hip is still warm to touch (except from right after I have iced). As for Option 2, I am feeling particularly self conscious about the way I look right now so pred is definitely out of the question but I might be up for a cortisone injection into the bursa if the GP can guarantee that it will at least help a bit. Option 3 is out of the question, but it was something that my Mum brought up in the middle of the night when I was still wide awake and intercepted her on the landing when she was going to get a drink of water… I have looked at the prices of the private physiotherapists around here and they are all far too expensive, and there is no guarantee that it will help. You may be wondering why I didn’t think about NHS physios, and whilst every physio I have had has been awesome, the waiting time is really long and I just don’t have the time, or the patience, to wait. Option 4 was another idea that my Mum had, again in the middle of the night, but since I have an appointment on the 17th of November [the appointment letter came this week, along with a letter saying that I DO NOT HAVE LUPUS] I might just try and wait it out. The Rheumy also said to phone her if I was flaring but this technically isn’t a flare… or at least, I don’t class it as a flare. Option 5 seems like the best option, there is no way I am going to let my GP take me off Naproxen since it’s the first time in years that my joints have felt relatively good, with the exception of my hip, but I don’t feel like I can carry on with just Naproxen and Paracetamol, as much as I hate to admit it, so I guess I might see about the cortisone injection… Especially because I have read that a cortisone injection could “permanently resolve” the bursitis, which after 2 years would be excellent!

I have been planning/thinking about some more posts that I could do and I may have also found another person to write us a guest post, which I am very excited about… and I also need to ask Justin of Haika Clothing to do another interview with me to tell us about the progress he has made [I am currently saving up to buy some more of his awesome shirts, and $5 of every purchase goes to an asthma charity!]. For more frequent updates check out my Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

