Freshers’ flu

So I am heading into my third week at uni and so far it has been a blast. I have made new friends, and [thankfully] I have settled in really well. I am quite lucky in the fact that I have always been very independent and I was ready to move out, so this transition, though scary as it was to begin with, has actually been really good for me.

I have been going out a lot with my flatmates and other people on my course, and it has been excellent fun, although it has been very tiring, especially for someone with [self diagnosed] insomnia because I can’t sleep during the day unless I am ill, and I wake up early on a morning so my average hourly sleep was about 4 hours during the first week of uni… Thankfully now it has increased to about 5 or 6 so I am not constantly knackered. However, the lack of sleep in addition to mixing with new people, living with new people, and partying a lot made me more vulnerable to illness and I have ended up coming down with what only can be described as, the dreaded, Freshers’ flu…

It all started last Saturday when I was feeling a little bit off, and I didn’t really want to talk to anyone or to eat anything. I kept getting spells of being boiling hot then freezing cold… but I decided that I would be fine and I went out that night anyway. BIG MISTAKE… Those of you who know me, will know the details of the events that night but for those who don’t, lets just say that you should try to think rationally, and be responsible even when you are drunk. I did a stupid thing that night that very nearly put me in hospital and it ended up with my asthma control being chucked out the window. Every since then I have been fighting to get my asthma under control: bumping up my Flutiform to 3 puffs twice a day, then up to 4 puffs twice a day [so I was essentially taking the equivalent of 20 puffs on the brown Clenil inhaler]… and I was still needing quite a lot of Ventolin throughout the day. Being the person that I am, I figured that I could cope with it and that I would be fine after a couple of days, which I was also wrong about. I had a constant temperature from Saturday through to Tuesday, my asthma just didn’t get better [but it didn’t get worse either, thankfully] and my usual asthma cough became a lot deeper and very productive… essentially I developed a chest infection.

I am registered with a new doctor up here, but I didn’t think I was bad enough to go and see what they said because I have had things like this before and I have always gotten over them after a few days. I spoke to my Mum and she agreed that I should wait and see what happens. Well it got worse, thats what happened. I woke up at about 3am on Tuesday feeling sick to my stomach and wheezing up a storm. I was incredibly short of breath and coughing up massive amounts of disgusting stuff [sorry if that was TMI] and my chest was really tight. I was feeling so ill that I couldn’t even stand up and I had to crawl to the bathroom, which thankfully is only a metre or two away from my bed. When you feel that ill and you have a temperature it is very difficult to think clearly and it is also very difficult to stay calm… my initial thought was that I needed an ambulance, but then I thought that I was so out of breath I probably wouldn’t be able to speak down the phone, so my next thought was that I needed my inhaler… Thinking back, I don’t think I was ill enough to need an ambulance, especially as I hadn’t actually tried my inhaler and in pure panic had crawled straight to the bathroom… My inhaler did work after quite a few hits, I stopped counting after 10 but it was definitely under 20 puffs total and my lungs were responding. Then I thought that I should tell my Mum to come and pick me up and we could go to urgent care to get some antibiotics, but then I figured that since I was breathing a lot easier I could wait until the morning as I didn’t think that Mum would appreciate the wake-up call… but thinking back, that was probably a bad idea as no one knew that I was feeling so ill. Somewhere in that situation I briefly thought of crawling down the corridor to wake up my flatmates so they could get help… but I decided against that too. However, if this ever happens again [and this is advice to all of my readers too] I definitely suggest that you let someone know, because things might not turn out so well… And generally when you are thinking you need an ambulance, you do need one.In the UK there is a service that allows you to text the emergency services if you are in a situation where you find you cannot speak for one reason or another, however you do have to register your phone first before you do this. [PLEASE SEE HERE FOR DETAILS]. I am actually kicking myself looking back because I should have told someone but my brain doesn’t work that well when I have a temperature and so I didn’t think clearly about what could happen.

It’s over a week since I first got sick and I am improving dramatically… The secretions in my chest are a lot thinner and easier to move when I cough although, I am still coughing more that I would like to, my wheezing has been at a minimal for the last couple of days, I am sleeping a lot better, my temperature has been normal for quite a while now except from a little episode yesterday. On the whole I am feeling significantly better, but I would not like to repeat any of that again.

Leave a Reply

