May Day & Knee Pain

I have had an amazing day today… It’s May Day/May Bank Holiday over here in the UK and we have a BBQ every year come rain or shine (literally we have all my been camped in my house before with Dad running in and out to turn the stuff on the BBQ because it was torrential rain). I got out on my Indo board for the second time this year and managed a good 20-25 minutes [check out my Instagram for photos] and I am starting to get the hang of some of the tricks I could do on it last year… My balance definitely hasn’t got any worse but it really does need improving. I think the fact that my knees and ankles are so stiff doesn’t help with my balance but maybe this will help to loosen them off with time. This year I am hoping to try my hand at surfing so hopefully Indo boarding will at least help a bit with my balance there.

A few of my friends came round and a fair few family friends came to the BBQ too which was great, and we had a good time reminiscing. It was such a good way to de-stress since I have a few exams coming up and revision is a real struggle this year. 

But now my knees hurt so much. I can’t even describe it, it’s just overwhelming pain from my throbbing knees and there is very little I can do about it right now. Isn’t it annoying when you have such a good day and then your health ruins it? I am actually regretting slightly that I went on my Indo board for so long, and I am regretting sitting out with my family and friends for so long when I could feel my knees getting sorer and stiffer, but I was having a good time and I didn’t want my knees to stop me having a good time. I am a firm believer of living every day as if it’s your last, because we do have a limited time on earth and because of this I try to do everything to my best ability and I try to have fun. I try not to let my joints get in the way but it’s times like this I just feel like I should find other ways of having fun no matter how much I like Indo boarding because this pain is not worth it.

But I know as soon as my joints settle down, I’ll be back on my board and loving life. I guess you can call me stubborn. I guess it’s sort of like an internal battle, working out which is stronger your autoimmune disease or your ability to battle it mentally. And right now, in the time it has taken me to write this blog, I’ve realised that I want to be stronger than my joints and I want to be stronger willed than my immune system and so the next day my knees feel good, I am going to get back on that board even though I know I will hurt like hell later. 

Leave a Reply

