A failed 12 of 12

So I tried and failed to do a 12 of 12 today so I am going to incorporate the pictures I took today with just a general blog post/update.

Those of you who know me know that I haven’t slept well at all since February… Partly because the bed in my flat is not comfortable and partly because of my joints but mainly because the people in the neighbouring flat are so loud. They play instruments and video games at all times of the day and night so I am lucky if I only wake up twice in one night, most night I am woken up between 3 and 5 times, more if I am unlucky. But because of all this I am pretty exhausted so on days like today when I have to get up even earlier than usual I find it really hard. 

The past few months I have had increasing amounts of hair loss to the point I need to unblock the plug everytime I shower. Everyone experiences hair loss every day but when it has suddenly started increasing, it is a bit worrying. If you add that into my other new/increasing symptoms like my nose ulcers it pretty much points to autoimmune. But my mum was getting worried that I could be slightly anaemic and wanted me to get it checked out by my GP.

Today was the day I went to the GP about it. I only rang yesterday lunchtime and managed to get an appointment for 8.10 this morning which was surprisingly fast but did mean that it was an earlier start than usual. The second problem, or what I thought was going to be a problem, was that this appointment was supposed to be with a GP that I vowed I would never see again… Why? Well that’s because in December right after I had been diagnosed I went to see this GP who turned around and told me straight out that I was going to become disabled because I have an autoimmune condition that isn’t magically going to go away?! Who says that to anyone! He wasn’t an expert in my condition and I was literally so appalled and gobsmacked that I couldn’t even think of anything to say, I literally just sat there and gawked. But hearing that this was the only appointment available I decided to give him a second chance… 

I turned up at the Surgery for 8.05 so there was 5 mins before my appointment… Turns out I could have turned up at 8.30 and still been early.  

 

I had the whole waiting room to myself and the GP was half an hour late! Not a good start.

But when I finally got in with the doctor he was brilliant! Totally different to what he was like last time! I did wonder if I was actually seeing the same doctor at one point. I wasn’t met with the cold GP who appeared not to care but I was greeted by a guy who was trying his absolute to do his best for me. 

We started by checking my asthma out. I switched from Flutiform 125/5 (3-4 puffs twice a day) to Seretide 125/25 2 puffs twice a day which seems illogical because that is actually a decrease in the total amount of inhaled steroid I would be taking a day but I did it anyway and it worked!!! I have only had one attack (actually it was 2 but it was one after another so I am not sure if is a continuation of the first attack or if it was actually 2 separate attacks) which was my fault because I exposed myself to a trigger stupidly and then suffered the effects. But if we ignore that then I have had virtually no symptoms at all! Not even during exercise! That is pretty much a first ever since I was diagnosed! My GP was actually ecstatic, he was so happy for me. We even had a little competition with peak flows… He betted [Note: we didn’t actually bet anything] that I could reach 450… 1st blow was 420 so not quite there. 2nd try 440! 10 points off!!! 3rd attempt 440… So I didn’t quite get the goal but it was very close and 440 is a good peak flow value for me. And if you accompany that with my lack of symptoms your doctor will write down on your records ASYMPTOMATIC!!!! So the decision is to stay on this dose of Seretide indefinitely, either until I feel that I can step down or if I need a higher dose for some reason. It isn’t clear why my asthma is controlled on this dose of Seretide when Flutiform, Symbicort, or a combination of Clenil and Serevent didn’t help before but as long as it is helping I don’t really care about the science behind it.

Then we went onto the hairloss and ulcer. The GP thought that these were probably because of my autoimmune condition… Although a side effect of Plaquenil/Hydroxychloroquine is hairloss. Having said that, it is unlikely that the Plaquenil is causing my hair to fall out since I have been taking it since Novemeber and this is a recent symptom. As I said earlier mum thought that I could be slightly anaemic which I mentioned to the GP and he was more than happy to run some bloods for me. I got my ESR (Erythrocytes Sedimention Rate – I.E inflammation levels), LFTs (Liver Function Tests), HbA1C (looks at blood glucose levels over a period of time) and my thyroid function tested as well as the usual CBC (Complete Blood Count). 

The actual blood test was fine except I bled through a cotton wool bud and then proceeded to bleed out the side of the tiny little plaster they gave me.

 

But apart from that everything was fine and I only got 3 vials taken, which, if my memory serves me right, is the smallest number of vials I have ever given? It has bruised pretty well though.

So that all happened before 10am and that was essentially all I did all day, apart from some revision which was broken up by watching episodes of Orphan Black… Unfortunately I have finished every episode of Orphan Black on Netflix so I feel a bit lost now.

Like I said, I have massively failed on that 12 of 12 since I only took 3 photos but I was in my room literally all day apart from for the appointment  and the fire alarm that went off (if you’re a student living in halls you will totally understand). So there is an update and a totally failed 12 of 12… Maybe we should just call it a 3/12?

2 thoughts on “A failed 12 of 12

  1. Maybe it’s that magic combo of Serevent and Flixotide..?

    I love it when they can put down that you’re asymptomatic, especially when it just felt like I was stepping up and up to little avail. I had a review on Thursday and am now comfortably settled on Seretide 125/25 2 puffs b.d. and Montelukast 10mg per night. Although it’s referral time for me as my body has decided to become severely allergic to latex, which has seen me on Prednisolone (again!) this past week :/ during a reaction a week ago, I used 16 puffs of my reliever! Eesh!

    I also managed to push my peak flow up, although it was only by 10 points (I actually thought I was the only person who referred to them as ‘points’, so thank you) and my Personal Best of 330 pales in comparison to your 440…eh well.

    1. I went through a year of not getting my peak flow into my green zone, and it was such a hard year. I went from Symbicort 100/6 2 puffs BD to 3-4 puffs BD and was still struggling. Sere tide 125/25 seems to be great for me…
      16 puffs of a reliever, that’s harsh…. I usually use about 12 puffs for an attack although I’ve used up to 20 but about 6-8 of those puffs are usually used for comfort (I.e I’m not having an attack any more but my chest is still causing issues so I use the reliever to relieve the tightness despite the attack having mostly stopped).
      I’m glad you have found a combination that’s helped! I’m surprised that seretide has helped me this time because I tried it before and it didn’t do anything but how I am on double what I was before so clearly it wasn’t that seretide didn’t help but that I wasn’t on the correct dosage

Leave a Reply

