Is it a flare? Or not?

I apologise for the lack of posts… I have been revising for a couple of exams at uni which hopefully went okay. I don’t get the results for a little while. It’s crazy that I only have 4 weeks of placement until I finish my first year at uni.

Today was my first day of placement and although my joints held up while I was there they seem to be hurting quite a lot more now. I’ve had a sore lower back and sore hips for a little while now, to the point where I am needing naproxen twice daily and paracetamol multiple times a day… I feel like I’ve taken a step back in terms of how controlled my joints are. I’m struggling to work out if the back pain is actually because I have a sore back or if it’s referred pain from my hips since my hips are also sore. Or if the back and hip pain is a result of SI joint issues. Either way, I hurt and it’s seriously pissing me off.

On top of the back pain and hip pain, my knee and ankle are also kicking up a fuss which makes walking around in placement more problematic… I have some joint supports that have helped in the past so hopefully that will help tomorrow.

I’ve also found my hips have been getting creaky… Usually this means stiffness but my hips are creaking once I’ve been up and about for hours. I wake up with them creaky and they are still creaky when I go to bed. My elbows have also been creaking a lot recently but thankfully they aren’t warm to touch or swollen, just creaky and sore so I am only keeping an eye on them, but I’m not too worried at the moment.

The warning signs of a flare that I look for are swelling, increased pain, heat at joints, increased stiffness and fatigue. So far I have:

• Swelling of my ankle, knee and wrists (periodically). 

• Increased pain in my lower back/SI joints/hips, knee, ankle, elbows, wrists, and various fingers.

• Heat at my knee and hips 

• Increased stiffness at hips, knee, ankle, wrists, elbow and hands

But I don’t feel any more fatigued than usual so I am watching and waiting to see what happens. I am hoping that this is a reaction to the added stress of exams and organising placement but there is also a chance that Plaquenil isn’t working as well as it was especially since I’m experiencing ulcers and hair loss… I see my rheumy in July so we can hopefully work out what’s going on then, if there is something going on.

You’d think that after dealing with this disease for so long, I would have more of an idea what’s going on with it… But it’s still a bit of an enigma to me.  

2 thoughts on “Is it a flare? Or not?

  1. Hope your first year at uni has been good and you have enjoyed it!! Enjoy the last bit of placement! Living with a long term condition is a total enigma especial when there are so many triggers. You will win the battle though Im sure!! Take care!

    1. Thank you Olivia! First year has been amazing, it’s just a case of learning to live with whatever my immune system throws at me 🙂

Leave a Reply

