#RAblog week, possible dactylitis and going gluten free

It’s been a while since I last blogged and quite a few things have been happening.

I will be participating in the first annual #RABlog week taking place from the 21st-27th September. This is where a bunch of bloggers write posts using pre-selected topics (and some wildcards) to share their experiences with RA… I don’t actually have RA but I do have an autoimmune condition that causes pain, swelling, inflammation and stiffness at my joints and means that I can be treated with the same medications that RA is treated with… My current treatment being Hydroxychloroquine, Naproxen, Paracetamol and Voltarol.

  
Secondly, I have been having a lot of problems with my little finger this past week… I wouldn’t have thought that one finger could cause so many problems but it has been painful enough to wake me up numerous times a night, even with naproxen and paracetamol! In addition to the pain, the whole finger has swelled up and become super stiff. I am concerned that it is dactylitis (inflammation of an entire finger or toe, usually associated with Psoriatic Arthritis, infection, Scleroderma and Sickle Cell anaemia). Psoriatic arthritis is one of the condition that my Rheumatologist thinks I could have so as soon as my finger swelled up, I became quite worried… The last time I saw my rheumatologist she suggested that my immune system may be sorting itself out but this week of swollen knees, ankle, returned Achilles tendinitis and now this finger accompanied with increased fatigue, stiffness and pain… I’m not convinced my immune system is doing anything except hurting me more.

I have got to the point that I am so sick of being sore and stiff that I have decided to change my diet and attempt going gluten free in hopes that this will help reduce the inflammation I am experiencing. I move back to University tomorrow ready to start my second year on Monday so I am going to start my gluten free diet on Monday. A new year, a new start ey? Sounds good to me! 

Leave a Reply

